Grant T. Reed
Hello! And thanks for dropping in. If you're a fan of Fantasy, Mystery, and Adventure, you've arrived at the right place! My name is Grant Reed, and I've spent the last 18 years writing novels for YOU!

A bookworm since childhood, I knew at an early age that I wanted to create new worlds and share my stories with others. Below is the culmination of thousands of hours of work. I hope these tales can transport you some place magical, and take you on a grand adventure. 

If you are in the mood for something epic (and much darker than my Vellian books), I present to you Shadow of the Makarios. Shadow of the Makarios is 450 pages of action, adventure, and dark fantasy inspired by my all time favorite author, David Gemmell. 
Shadow of the Makarios

I wrote Shadow of the Makarios in my early twenties (22ish). For those of you familiar with my subsequent Vellian Series, be warned that Shadow of the Makarios does not follow in the same vein of humour and lightheartedness. There is violence, and some sex, so cover your eyes when you get to those parts! I have pulled the manuscript out and dusted it off, and applied a liberal dose of editing. I have not changed the story from its original plot, despite the urge to modify it.  –It is what it is, and it shall stand as my first attempt at writing a grand adventure. I hope you can enjoy the effort as much as I enjoyed exploring my new craft, while being a stay at home dad and writing chapters between diaper changes! 

Eyndegaria is a peaceful country nestled in the middle of the Freelands. Once, long ago, her rich soils were the battlefield for a war between the Makarios tribe and the people of the mainland. A thousand years of rest have seen her countrymen grow complacent and the threat of their forefathers dismissed. The Makarios have not forgotten though and will stop at nothing to free their imprisoned brethren. 
There is one who remembers the tale of these horrific hunters and he has spent a lifetime preparing for their return. Now an old man, he must convince an officer of the watch and a grieving swordsman that theirs is the light that will push back the shadow of the Makarios. 

If you are a fan of whimsical fantasy, then our Vellian Heroes series is for you! (These are 100% family friendly reads): 

Vellian Heroes Book 1 (written with Gary Reed)

Funny Fruit

This is the first book in the Vellian novels and is the story of the two Masters Fonn and Yarl. In their 90’s, the brothers set out to train new apprentices as future Protectors of the Realm. Young Garrett and Azilda are selected, and adventures unfold as the characters embark upon a journey to stop the king’s First General from usurping the crown.

After ninety years of warring, exploring, and saving the realm, brothers Yarl and Fonn, must take up the title of Master again. If they don’t, someone else will surely steal all the fame, glory, and fertile women. How will they ever train new apprentices, save the kingdom, and still find time to fit in that extra order of chicken wings? Make no mistake, the old Masters have a lot to pass on and only a short timeframe to do it. Will young Garrett flourish as an apprentice Sworvei? Can his partner Azilda master the ‘Nesting Nightingale’? And who in hell invited the ogres? 
Join this rag-tag group of ‘Protectors of the Realm’ to see if they can pull off the biggest upset of the Continental Games, by saving young King Renli from the clutches of the evil First General. 

Vellian Heroes Book 2 (written with Gary Reed)

The Cassadian Chalice

This is the second book in the Vellian novels and continues the story of the children Garrett and Azilda as they train under their respective Masters. General Ascentyai Asimo and his son Vanrai may be in prison for their crimes against the Crown, but their indomitable drive will see them put the realm in its greatest danger yet.

Sentenced to hard time on Bellicose Island, Ascentyai Asimo and his son now realize how difficult rehabilitation can be. The shark patrol is looking for new recruits and neither of the men are noted swimmers. Escaping the island and forming a better plan for world domination are things that will have to be done and quickly. Perhaps this cool new chalice they discovered will help? Fortunately for the realm, there is one man and his robotic privy cleaning companion who know of the general’s evil intentions. Stopping the ambitious Asimos is a solvable dilemma, but it will mean a harrowing journey back through time to save a princess from the chalice’s original guardian, an angry she-dragon with a hatred for the Cassadian people. 

If you are a fan of mysteries, my Vellian Mysteries series awaits. And hey, good news, if you liked the characters from the Vellian Heroes series...THEY'RE BACK!: 

Vellian Mysteries Book 1

Welcome to Deep Cove

Twenty years after the adventures in the Cassadian Chalice, Welcome to Deep Cove follows Garrett and his miniature dragon partner, Merle, as they attempt to make it in the real world. Garrett has finally received his P.I. papers and he and Merle must undertake a case for a notorious gangster in order to pay their bills.

Winner of the Hungry Monster Silver Book Award

At thirty-one, Garrett Willigins has finally earned his private investigator’s badge. Unfortunately the bills haven’t stopped coming and building a solid reputation won’t happen overnight. Forced to take employment wherever they can, Garrett and his miniature dragon partner, Merle, must dirty their hands any way possible to make a buck. Shoveling manure, chasing cats, and dock duty seem to be the order of the day. 
Working off back rent for a notorious gangster isn’t the safest of jobs on a good day, but when the other dock workers begin disappearing, Garrett finds himself elbow deep in a mystery that might spell a quick end to his short P.I. career.

Vellian Mysteries Book 2

Something Stinks in Deep Cove

This Vellian Mystery has Garrett and his old friend Willie Taylor searching for the legendary creature of the Lonely Wood. The Deepbrook Devil is a century old legend that appears to have some truth to the myth. While Garrett and Willie hunt the beast, Merle finds himself in hot water back home, when his and Garrett’s automaton helper is signaled out by a dozen witnesses, as the abomination that murdered a businessman in his new factory.

News of the mutilation of an entire herd of goats in the high passes of the Lonely Wood has brought the famous bowman, Willie Tayler, in search of the Deepbrook Devil. While Garrett and Willie search for answers to the century old mystery of the beast, Merle is left to take care of business at home. 
With Garrett’s bigger bed to sleep in and no one to nag him about his daily routine, everything seems to be going according to plan. That is until a high powered businessman turns up dead in his new factory, and a dozen witnesses point their finger at Garrett and Merle’s automaton helper. 

Vellian Mysteries Book 3

Something's Brewing in Deep Cove

A mystery about beer of all things! The Kline's new brewery is in full swing, but they still need to be discovered. I'll bet these new flavours will do the trick! Something's Brewing in Deep cove reunites Garrett and his old masters Fonn and Yarl, as they work together to unravel the mystery of the contaminated Cotton Candy Draught.

It’s time to celebrate the summer solstice with the Festival of Faeries. Kline’s Brewery will be hosting their first ever ‘Beer Guzzler’, and Roope Finnius, the Kline’s new Brew Master, has created five innovative flavours that are sure to wow the denizens of Deep Cove. Things don’t go according to plan though as fairgoers become deathly ill, blaming their ailment on Vic’s new Cotton Candy Draught. To top things off, Cassadia’s premiere violin prodigy will be headlining the festival this year, despite the very real threat that his priceless Cordivini violin, has fallen under the watchful eye of a professional burglar.